My 36th Birthday!

My husband Frank gave me a wonderful treat by celebrating my 36th birthday in Kuala Lumpur. It’s my third time to travel to KL but this time I really researched places to dine, hangout and have shisha.

Since I am busy with my TV show “Haplos” on GMA, my vacation days are very limited and when I got the text that I don’t have taping on a Friday my husband booked a ticket and hotel right away.

I highly recommended Traders Hotel to my husband because of the view of the Petronas Twin Towers and the KLCC Park. It’s so nice to wake up in the morning seeing greeneries and great architecture.

For our first Malaysian meal, I suggested to eat at the food court of Pavilion Mall because I love fancy food courts. A lot has changed since 2011 so we ended up dining in at Madam Kwan’s, it was sooo good.

We found a great place to have a shisha at the top floor of Pavilion Mall, too bad they don’t serve beer, but their shisha is great! Double apple flavor never fails.

Two years ago, my only request to my husband who was my boyfriend back then was to celebrate my birthday by doing a rooftop bar hopping but we weren’t able to do so. Good thing we decided to go to KL where you can find a lot of rooftop bars overlooking the Petronas Twin Towers.

We went to Heli Lounge Bar, Elysium Bar+Terrace and Sky Bar though there are so much more but we don’t have much time. We also visited our dear friend Valerie who is a mixologist at this speak-easy bar called The Vault, she made me try their signature cocktails. We really enjoyed the vibe there.


I have this app on my phone called Sygic Travel, wherein you can find tours and places in the country you’re going to visit and one suggestion is to do the firefly tour. We booked it, it’s a 6-hour tour in Kuala Selangor. Part of the package is visiting Bukit Melawati where you can feed the Silver Leaf Monkeys, a 5-course seafood meal and a boat ride to see the fireflies. They looked like Christmas lights flickering in the dark.

We dropped by Shangri-La Hotel to visit my good friends Sarita & Marlou. They’re performing there from Mondays-Saturdays and their band is called the URB Band. I almost forgot that it’s already my birthday because I’m always amazed at the a la Shakira dance moves of Sars. We met their daughter who is getting famous on social media, she’s called the Ukulele Girl Selena Marie.

We accidentaly found this cool beer garden and shisha place along Jalan P Ramlee called Ava Bistro. The staff are friendly and happy hour promos are awesome. Here’s our photo with the life-size shisha.

We’re very happy that it’s 2017 and getting around KL is so easy just by using Grab App. I am so amazed with how the city was planned, roads are wider with bright lights at night, even on the tunnels. The signs are big enough to read and they have an airconditioned walkway for people. How I wish my home Metro Manila will be like that soon.

On my birthday we celebrated it on the top floor of The Troika. There’s a fancy Italian place called Strato. The wine they recommended was so good that we forgot to take a photo of it. Because some of the servers are Filipinos I told them it’s my birthday. Of course I always order Tiramisu for dessert when I’m in an Italian restaurant and they gave me a sweet surprise, Maraming Salamat! The hospitality of Filipinos especially abroad is really great, they always give their 200% best.

Before leaving KL there was a strong rain pour and we have a saying in The Philippines that if it rained on your birthday it means more blessings to come, so I’ll claim it! ♡

Follow me on Instagram.
♡ FraP

Leave a comment